Supporting geoscience scholarships and public outreach in Utah and the Intermountain West



Please consider making a tax-deductible donation. For a limited time, all contributions to the foundation will be matched two to one with contributions from UGA funds. Furthermore, through December 31, 2023 all persons donating $1,000 or more will become permanent members of the Foundation's Founders' Circle and listed on the website.

Checks should be made out to and mailed to:

Utah Geological Foundation
c/o Prof. Marjorie A. Chan, Treasurer
1244 E Spring Drive Sandy, UT 84094

About the Foundation

For many decades the Utah Geological Association (UGA) has occasionally co-hosted the annual convention of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG). Income from the conventions permitted the UGA to support a generous scholarship program for Geology majors in Utah universities and colleges, a Teacher of the Year award, geologic publications, placement of geology interpretative signage on public highways, and other charitable activities. Recently the AAPG announced that, as a cost-cutting measure, it would no longer hold its annual convention in Salt Lake City. Rather than see the eventual end to the UGA's scholarship awards and public outreach, a group of longstanding UGA members and former officers created the Utah Geological Foundation (UGF), an IRS 501(c)(3) charitable entity (allows tax-deductible donations).  UGF's mission is to raise funds and build an endowment to support these charitable activities long into the future. All contributions will be acknowledged in writing. Our Federal Tax ID number is 87-3778675.


  • Paul Anderson (President)
  • Marjorie Chan (Treasurer)
  • Leslie Heppler (secretary)
  • Grant Willis
  • Steven Schamel
  • John South (Ex Officio - UGA President)

Founders' Circle

Rick Ford and Sarah George

Published in General